Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    skunkape Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Oct 22, 2007, 02:19 PM
    overhead crane
    HI. And thanks for looking at my question... I want to build an over head crane in my shop the H beams are 6.5 x 4 x 1/4 the span will be 40' with 16' upright h beams of the same size on each end... The question is how much weight will this hold?? I'm looking for around 1 ton...
    KBC Posts: 2,550, Reputation: 487
    Ultra Member

Oct 23, 2007, 05:47 AM
    Only one ton,not much weight!

A forty foot span will have considerable deflection on its spread,even with gussets and 45 degree knee bracing the span might need some upper support.

I am not a structural engineer,(father was mechanical).

I would talk with a truss company or structural architectural firm before going too far.

Best of luck,

Ken

Oct 23, 2007, 05:54 AM
    OK thanks my main concern will be in the webbing... I can tie back into the building on top every ten feet to support the downward pull of the weight as it travels across the beam
    KBC Posts: 2,550, Reputation: 487
    Ultra Member

Oct 23, 2007, 05:59 AM
    Good luck,Maybe when a few more check in they will have some more ideas,

Ken

Oct 26, 2007, 09:22 PM
    Need answer
    dluns2 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2007, 07:37 PM
    Is it a wide flange or standard beam? Meaning is the web flat or tapered. You could check with a company that sells structural steel and they can tell you what weight the beam will hold at that span. You could always stitch weld a channel to the top of the beam to reinforce it. 40 feet is a long span for that weight. I don't think your beam will hold the weight safely.
    ASU_Darin Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 10, 2008, 10:23 PM