Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vdrezzi Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2005, 09:35 AM
    Wireless/cable internet connection
    Hello,

I have 2 issues. Now I am new to this, so please don't judge me.
    1) I was recently by my friend with my laptop (has wireless connectivity). I was able to connect to the wireless modem - got an ip address, subnet mask, and default gateway - but, still couldn't connect to the internet. I made sure that my internet settings were similar to my friend's... but still no luck.. Can you help me on this?
    2) Where I am living, my roommate got Road Runner. We all have the same cable wiring in the house.. I tried access the internet with a compatible cable modem.. saw activity.. got an automatic assigned ip address and subnet mask... but still wasn't able to get online... plz help on this.

Do I need to get their usernames/pwds or connectivity settings to connect to the internet?
    Please assist me on this.. Thanks

Jen :rolleyes:
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Oct 31, 2005, 09:48 AM
    The answer may as simple as plugging in the correct DNS server settings for his ISP. Try that first. Another test you could do would be for your friend to share a folder on his computer and see if you can access it.

Having said that your friend should set some security on his network since you were able to join without a key.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 31, 2005, 11:04 AM
    If your roommate got RoadRunner and you bought a cable modem and tried to access it from the cable line, that proabably wouldn't work. The cable company registers the modems to prevent people from doing that. What you should do is work out a financial arrangement with your roommate and use a broadband router to share the Internet connection.