Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chochocho Posts: 60, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2005, 04:28 PM
    DataBase for Email softwarw
    I'm trying to design a program or software that is an email system like hotmail with most of its cool functions, so I wish to know which database program, books will be most suitable for me. Mind u, I'm a rookie with database and I've done only a little C++ programming in college.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 30, 2005, 07:46 AM
    Any SQL database should work. Probably MySQL is your best bet since its Open Source.

Nov 10, 2005, 03:27 PM
    Thanks for response Scott,
    I've played with SQL database a little before, but I thought SQL is not just an independent database programme rather it's used in the database programme ASP as an ASP's data handler. I don't have have a clue about MYSQL, but maybe I need to check it out, but I hope it can help me design an email system.

Nov 10, 2005, 06:30 PM
    SQL stands for Structured Query Language. ANY relational database that support SQL is considered an SQL database. Oracle, DB2, SQL Server, MySQL ans others are all considered large scale SQL databases.

Nov 11, 2005, 07:09 AM
    As a database novice which, so one do u think would be most appropriate for me to accomplish my objective. I actually go the website: www.w3schools.com
    That's where I've actually be exposed to SQL ASP , so using that website how do u think that I can pull off my objective.

Nov 11, 2005, 08:47 AM
    You need to talk with your WEB host service. They would be better able to advise what they support.
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member

Nov 11, 2005, 09:44 AM
    Chochocho,

I think you are going about this the wrong way. Are you considering storing the emails for each user in a database? If you are writing a web based email solution, you don't want to do this.