Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    clem32 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 18, 2007, 01:04 PM
    HIPPA Privacy act
    What are the 12 circumstances that personal health information can be used for purposes unrelated to health care?
    CaseyO Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 24, 2010, 08:30 PM
    As an independent contractor, I am paid a % per client from the Establishment owner. She wants me to turn over all my client files to her and I feel this is a breach of privacy to MY clients even though I work on them in her establishment. Do I have any legal standing to not having to give her my client files? Does this fall under the Privacy Act?
    She basically has no need of my files unless she was to work on one of my clients and then, I feel, there would be a "need-to-know" and would gladly share the file with her since the client would be seeing her (but most of my clients choose not to see her for various reasons). I'm in a quandry and trying to stall letting go of my files. PLEASE HELP and tell me where I stand, legally!
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Jul 25, 2010, 06:03 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by CaseyO View Post
    As an independent contractor, I am paid a % per client from the Establishment owner. She wants me to turn over all my client files to her and I feel this is a breach of privacy to MY clients even though I work on them in her establishment. Do I have any legal standing to not having to give her my client files? Does this fall under the Privacy Act?
    She basically has no need of my files unless she was to work on one of my clients and then, I feel, there would be a "need-to-know" and would gladly share the file with her since the client would be seeing her (but most of my clients choose not to see her for various reasons). I'm in a quandry and trying to stall letting go of my files. PLEASE HELP and tell me where I stand, legally!