Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    askmaya Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Oct 18, 2007, 10:57 AM
    How to convert
    Dear Sir,
    I have a excel spreadsheet data, I want to convert the excel data in Microsoft access and use the same as a database for a website. I am a beginner to access and I need full information about all things including saving the data.
    Regards,
    Askmaya
    Emland Posts: 2,468, Reputation: 496
    Ultra Member

Oct 18, 2007, 11:31 AM
    One of our members has written a book recently about Access InformIT: Microsoft Office Access 2007 VBA - $31.99

Hopefully, he will be along shortly and can give you a hand.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 18, 2007, 12:07 PM
    Ok we have three issues here. 1) Import the data into Access 2) Convert the data to a relational format 3) Use the data on a website.

1) This is easy. From the Tables list, select File>New>Import. Follow the prompts the import the Excel data
    2) This is more complex. Excel is a flat file database, access is a relational database. To make use of Access's strengths, you need to normalize your data. I suggest you do some research on normalization. After Importing Access will offer to Analyze your data and make suggestions for normalization. But you need to understand this process first.
    3) This depends on how you want to use the data. And is the most complex of all. Access is not the best tool for an interactive web-based database, though it can be used that way. I'd need more info to advise further.

Oct 20, 2007, 10:30 AM
    Dear Sir,