Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tom_McC_42 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 11, 2007, 08:18 PM
    How can I get assistance for my family
    Hello, my name is Tom. I'm 42, have been married for 23 years to my wife, Terry. We have 2 wonderful boys and I'm thankful everyday for all that we have. I have worked 27 years of my life and now find myself in a bit of a pickle. We haven't had any healthcare since 2002. I started having strokes since 2001 with the most recent in Aug of this year.
    They finally determined the cause and I have to have a PFO closure, which will be open heart surgery, hopefully by the end of this year. I'm not supposed to work or drive, and, since I've been a field service technician for 17 years, driving is what I do. So, needless to say, I lost my job. My wife found a job and my youngest, now 18, is in his last year of high school and his fast food job doesn't pay much. We live in Mississippi and the state is going to pay for the PFO closure, unfortunately, they can't help compensate living expenses. So I was forced to find another job until I have my surgery. My mom, even know she's on a fixed retirement income, somehow managed to loan me $3000.00 to buy a used car in Aug, two weeks after my stroke. We bought a 95 Toyota Camry that had a rebuilt engine and transmission, really nice condition. Well now the engine threw a rod and we don't have the money to fix it, having fallen behind in rent. We are both tapped out of resources which is what brings me to this site. I'm trying to find some preventative homelessness if anyone can help. I know it's a lot to read and I'm sorry, but if anyone can help, we are forever grateful. Thanks, Tom :)
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Oct 11, 2007, 08:28 PM