Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mathtutor Posts: 30, Reputation: 2

Oct 8, 2005, 09:16 PM
    She's pregnant and I'm a sucker!
    First the main issue and then a little bit of background. My ex-girlfriend, whom I haven't seen in over 10 weeks and presumed that I was never going to see again (which would have been fine by me), out of the blue shows up on my doorstep yesterday and informs me that "she's 17 weeks pregnant with my child." When I asked her when she found out about this, she replied "yesterday" (i.e. two days ago.) Now, I'm no expert on female anatomy but I have done a little bit of "homework" on the topic and somehow I feel that if I let myself believe that this woman was 17 weeks pregnant before she realized it, then someone ought to try to sell me some hot real estate in Florida, if you get my drift. To make matters worse, she's very angry about the whole situation and totally blames me, as though I deliberately set out to sabotage her or something like that. Of course, I'm willing to accept responsibility for my part in it, but as we all know, "it takes two" (the sex between us, while it lasted, was totally 100% consensual. In fact, on the whole, she was more of the aggressor than I was.) Obviously, I got out my little pocket calendar and did some arithmetic and, admittedly, 17 weeks, if that is in fact the case, makes it a very definite possibility that I am the dad. Even more interesting, 17 weeks ago is just about the time that she suddenly lost interest in being sexually intimate with me and started becoming very hostile and verbally and emotionally abusive towards me. It's as though her personality and feelings for me did a 180-degree about face and not for the better. I hung on, though, and tolerated it for a while (very foolish of me now that I look back) in the hopes that she would "come around" again and our relationship would get back to how it had been initially, which amounts to about the first 8 weeks that we were together.