Ask
    JamieLynn Posts: 55, Reputation: 5

Sep 25, 2007, 10:01 AM
    Why is my baby spitting up so much?
    I have a 5 month old baby this is his feeding schdule:

Morning: 7 ounce bottle of formula
    Noon: 2-3 tablespoons of cereal mixed with juice, 5 ounce bottle of formula
    Afternoon: 7 ounce bottle of formula
    Night: 1 jar of fruit, half jar of veggies (or vice versa), 5 ounce bottle of formula
    Midnight: 7 ounce bottle of formula

He's on soy formula. He weighs 20 lbs and is 28 inches in length. He spits up after every meal at least an ounce sometimes more. It doesn't seem to bother him but it worries me. My friend has a baby the same age and he doesn't spit up at all anymore. What should I do.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 25, 2007, 10:16 AM
    I am not an expert on this, having only had one boy but it seems to me that is a lot of food for a five month old. Even if you cut back on the cereal mixed with juice at noon he wouldn't be missing much. As for the midnight feeding at five months, seems unusual, do you have to wake him up for this? If he is sleeping through the night you shouldn't have to wake him up as he would be content.

Basically what I am saying is, spitting up may be just too much food for the little guy to handle and on the other hand, no two babies are alike so don't judge by how your friends baby handles food.

You are worrying too much and he is not going to starve.
    cjonline Posts: 217, Reputation: 19

Sep 25, 2007, 11:03 AM
    Since he is on Soy I take it to mean that he has an upset belly already, right? If so spitting up may just be too much food or he can't handle the "new" sugar in the jar foods and Juice. I would cut the sweet stuff first, the jars of food and juice, and see if that helps cut back on the spitting up. If it does then you know the problem.