Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    humlshog Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 13, 2005, 05:20 PM
    Can't find toilet drain in basement
    Builder has exposed drain pipe for shower and wash-out drain against wall for vanity, yet no exposed toilet ring in cement floor. It is all stubbed down for water and air vents, but nothing visible for the toilet. We have drilled holes in the cement where we think the toilet will go with no luck. There is a bathroom directly above the basement bathroom area. Would it be in the same area below it? Since it has been 5 years, the builder can't recall the property but insists the plumbing is there. Help!
    tommytman Posts: 153, Reputation: 2

Sep 13, 2005, 08:23 PM
    I'm no expert but if it was there they would not have put cement over it. Tell him to come and drill the holes... I think he is full up with it.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 14, 2005, 06:49 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by humlshog
    builder has exposed drain pipe for shower and wash-out drain against wall for vanity, yet no exposed toilet ring in cement floor. It is all stubbed down for water and air vents, but nothing visible for the toilet. We have drilled holes in the cement where we think the toilet will go with no luck. There is a bathroom directly above the basement bathroom area. would it be in the same area below it? Since it has been 5 years, the builder can't recall the property but insists the plumbing is there. Help!
    Ask the builder to furnish you with the name of the plumbing contractor that did the work. Most plumbing companys keep a set of rough in plans on file for the houses that they install plumbing in. Surely the plumber didn't just rough in for a shower and vanity,( what do you mean by "wash out drain" a floor drain ?) and then forget to add a toilet. Did he also "forget" to vent the group? Let us know what you find. Good luck, Tom
    frankiedon53 Posts: 39, Reputation: 1