Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    statikco Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 5, 2007, 07:41 PM
    Grand Theft Auto of Parts
    okay so I basically messed up hanging around with the wrong people. Me and two other people randomly drove by a motorcycle and threw it in the truck. We stripped the parts from the bike(only some). Then we put the motorcycle in a near by court. I had some fairings and gauge and other stuff and the other two keep some stuff. I tried to sell the parts and come across a undercover cop who was on the internet. He arrested me and went into my house without a warrant. He checked my computer and checked my email and then he brought me to the police station. I admitted to stealing the bike to the cops. They charged me with 3 felonies and one minor. PC 496a,PC 496d, vc 10851 a, and vc10852. I got locked up for 5 hours and later they released me by "OR" because this is my first time in jail and getting into trouble. They scheduled me a court date in about 2 weeks. I'm 19 and working and living in California. Should I plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest? I heard from one of the inmates if I plea guilty, I'll get thrown back into jail. What should I do?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Sep 5, 2007, 07:48 PM
    They have the parts, and your confession, Before you confessed is when you do not guilty. You need a serious attorney NOW.

You are looking at jail time no matter what at this point I would say. The best you can hope for now ( you let the police in and then confessed) is to work out a plea agreement for the less jail you can get.

No contest is like pleading guilty except it can not be used in civil court, so is someone suing you ? Did you hurt someone in the crime?

If you appear and don't have an attorney yet, plead not guilty, now the judge may require bail at this point. But if you plead guilty, most likely you will be locked up ( but may not) till you are sentenced and then you will go to jail.