Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Crash Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 27, 2004, 05:15 PM
    HELP.Can't get rid of toolbar\common.dll
    Used Spybot and AdAware... several times... I get a message that it can't remove these files:

C:\Program Files\toolbar\common.dll
    C:\Program Files\toolbar\PIB.exe
    C:\Program Files\toolbar\TBPS.exe
    C:\Program Files\toolbar\toolbar.dll

How do I get rid of these files?

Also, I have run both Spybot and AdAware several times and it keeps finding a lot of the same stuff and I just keep deleting them... Seems to be finding less items each time, but I have never done this before and am not knowledgeable at all.

Thanks for any help. ;D
    cremedies Posts: 304, Reputation: 0

Dec 10, 2004, 12:47 AM
    Software should be the last step of any spyware removal process... not the first! If the removal procedure is done out of sequence, your problems will just return the next time you restart your computer. If you’ve used a spyware removal program in the past, then you’ve likely already experienced this.

Try the Spyware-Adware Removal Kit that is available at the link below. By following this comprehensive 11 page, step-by-step document with screen shots, you will be able to restore your computer to like-new condition.
    kopfgeldjagar Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 18, 2005, 09:00 PM
    Get rid of toolbar
    Here's how I got rid of Toolbar. Start your computer into safe mode. Run SPYBOT S&D In safe mode, the computer is only using the most basic of processes to function, and doesn't load TBPS which is the process that causes the problem. Spybot should find something like 300 registry entrys of toolbar, but it will get rid of them because they have not started. Once spybot is done with it's scan and removal, restart the computer into normal mode and run spybot again along with Ad-Aware (6.0 if possible). This should take care of the problem.

Kopfgeldjagar
    kopfgeldjagar Posts: 2, Reputation: 1