Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bomberlouis Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

Aug 29, 2007, 02:02 PM
    Coming off effexor
    Hi I am a 41 year old woman and I have been on antidepressants called EFFEXOR for 7 years now and I just want to come off them .
    I need to now if any on out there has been on EFFEXOR and just stopped taking them, if so what are the side affects
    Can anyone advise me
    Thanks
    Shaz
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Aug 29, 2007, 02:14 PM
    I was on Effexor XR for several years. Quit cold turkey.

How many mg are you taking per day?

Why do you want to quit?

There are lots of unanswered questions here before I start answering for you.

Also, the side effects are very different for every person.
    JohnSnownw Posts: 322, Reputation: 51

Aug 29, 2007, 02:14 PM
    I have no experience with it, but this person does. They outline their experience and what worked for them. Here is the link:

Effexor Exit Stratagy

Aug 29, 2007, 02:36 PM
    Hi j_9
    I am on 200mg a day I feel as if they are no longer helping me and I just want to come off them I no there are different affects for different people I just want to no if there are any servior affects if I just stop taking them
    Thanks
    Shaz
    Expert

Aug 29, 2007, 02:42 PM
    There can be. I had some "brain zaps," mostly at night, so I would go to bed earlier. However, I had some very positive effects too. For instance, my eyesight got better than it had been even before I was on Effexor. I don't recommend anyone stopping cold turkey like I did though.

There are other meds that can replace this. Have you discussed this with your doctor?

Aug 29, 2007, 02:51 PM
    OK thanks for your help I will go and seek advice from my doctor
    Shaz
    Expert

Aug 29, 2007, 02:55 PM
    Never ever self-medicate yourself, and it is equally as important that you not stop without the advice and guidance of the doctor who prescribed the med.