Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    x2scorp Posts: 29, Reputation: 3

Aug 28, 2007, 01:41 PM
    Mother-in-law needs to move out
    :confused: I have been helping my mother-in-law out for about 4-5 months. She needed a place to stay and get her life back on track. She has no place to go and is on medicine for bipolar. We try to get her to look for apartments and stuff and she rarely does it. Plus she sleeps on my couch and is sleeping all the time. She doesn't pay any rent but she does help buy groceries with her food stamps. County services would be paying her rent so I don't understand what the problem is. Oh, plus her ex boyfriend keeps calling and trying to get her to come back which is very bothering(he got another woman pregnant.) Am, I just beeingto mean, but I want her to get out. How do I get rid of my Mother-in-law?:(
    Emland Posts: 2,468, Reputation: 496
    Ultra Member

Aug 28, 2007, 01:46 PM
    Your spouse needs to take her out and find her a place and tell her that it is time for her to move on. If she is sleeping on the couch, then it is obvious you don't have room for her. She most likely is frightened to live on her own. Get a list of 3 or 4 apartment complexes in her budget and get going.
    lacuran8626 Posts: 270, Reputation: 57

Aug 29, 2007, 01:51 PM
    Arrange for a meeting with your mother in law, her children and the county social worker to set up a schedule and arrangements for her to move into another safe arrangement where she can get appropriate assistance and care. It sounds like she's not well enough to make the plans on her own, and you may have to take actions legally to get some control over making these decisions for her as a family.