Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mannyswifey86 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 24, 2007, 07:49 PM
    I think mold is growing and the landlord won't do nothing what should I do?
    Sorry but I'm new to this asking people for help. But I really need some help. Me, my boyfriend, our almost 14 month old son and our dog live in this apartment. About the time when I was almost 8 months pregnant with our son our celing began too leak. We informed the landlord about it and he said he was going to have someone come and look at it. Now my son is almost 14 months old and walking putting things in his mouth and the celing is still leaking and now pieces are coming down and leaking even worse we don't know what to do but the is something growing on it and I think it may be mold. But we don't have any money for nothing cause we have a young child and I don't want nothing to happened to my son so I need some advice someone please help me?! 1
    GlindaofOz Posts: 2,334, Reputation: 354
    Ultra Member

Aug 24, 2007, 07:53 PM
    I would send a certified registered letter to your landlord requesting for the repairs to be made immediately. The apartment is possibly in non-livable conditions which in effect voids your lease. I would notify your landlord that you will be withholding rent until the repairs are made. You will have to hold the rent in escrow until the dispute is settle and at that time you will pay the back owed rent. If they do not fix it I would file a complaint with the housing dept in your area. I would file a complaint every day that the problem is not fixed.
    jillianleab Posts: 1,194, Reputation: 279
    Ultra Member

Aug 24, 2007, 09:13 PM