Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dias06 Posts: 110, Reputation: 26

Aug 23, 2007, 11:08 PM
    Blade runner
    I'm a 2nd year architecture student and we recently had to watch "Blade Runner" to find the post-modernism elements in it. We haven't learnt much about post-modernism yet, so the lecturer might still explain, but I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me till then! What was I meant to be looking for?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Aug 24, 2007, 11:03 PM
    I don't know about the film. But, you might find some correlation to it in the article below. I hope that it is helpful to you.

From: Postmodern architecture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Postmodern architecture

Postmodern architecture is an international style whose first examples are generally cited as being from the 1950s, and which continues to influence present-day architecture. Postmodernity in architecture is generally thought to be heralded by the return of "wit, ornament and reference" to architecture in response to the formalism of the International Style of modernism. As with many cultural movements, some of postmodernism's most pronounced and visible ideas can be seen in architecture. The functional and formalized shapes and spaces of the modernist movement are replaced by unapologetically diverse aesthetics: styles collide, form is adopted for its own sake, and new ways of viewing familiar styles and space abound.