Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thepiman Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 27, 2005, 02:03 AM
    Venting Thanks
    Spent last 3 hrs reading threads, trying to answer my questions. Thank you for this site!
    I am working on new construction. I would like to confirm some things I think I learned on this site. Please answer T/F. If False please fix me.

1 every fixture w/trap needs vented. EX tub lav toilet shower.

2 w/in 3.5' for 1.5"pipe / 5' for 2"pipe.

3 a 2" vent will gennerally suffice for a bathroom group.

4 if joining multiple bathroom groups / should increase vent size

5 I have a large master bath with Jaccuzzi, shower, toilet, two sinks. Jacc is 8ft away from anything, so it should get it's own vent. Shower is 5ft from middle sink, so if I use 2"pipe and vent the middle sink immediately, I should be able to run the other sink and the shower into the vented middle sink waste line, then run them all to the 3" line from the toilet, which also needs vented prior to that entrance, giving me three vents total for this bathroom. But I can connect them all together to take them out.

6 #5 is called a wet vent

7 I have 3.5 bathrooms plus kitchen. I should be able to vent them all into a 3" stack and terminate it through a wall with a screen as long as it is at least 5ft from a window.

8 I have a small bathroom with all three fixtures draining near 5ft from each other. If I run the tub and lav together then a vent before the toilet and its drain, I should be OK with only the one vent.

If it seems I am confused on an issue, please let me know asap, thanks
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Aug 27, 2005, 07:12 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by thepiman
    Spent last 3 hrs reading threads, trying to answer my questions. Thank you for this site!
    I am working on new construction. I would like to confirm some things I think I learned on this site. Please answer T/F. If False please fix me.