Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fraberna Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 17, 2007, 04:45 PM
    1918 piano worth
    How much could be the purchase porice of a 1918 Adam Schaaf upright piano in mediocre condition?
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Aug 17, 2007, 09:35 PM
    It's amazing that someone could post an inquiry about the same brand of piano on the same site in so short a time! Also, considering that these types of questions about pianos seem to occur very seldom on this site.

Anyway, if the piano is not in very good condition, or "mediocre" as you have described, then it isn't worth very much. However, please describe why you or someone else thinks that it is in mediocre condition? I would appreciate a lot of detail for the reason, if you can. Because if you can, then I would be able to give you a more thorough answer that would be more satisfactory to you. I have been a piano/tuner technician since 1974.

Here are some things to consider in answering my question. You don't have to answer each question. They are questions to help you to figure out why you are saying that it is in mediocre condition.

Are you trying to sell the piano or considering purchasing it?
    If you are trying to sell it, are you looking for a possible price for which to sell it?
    If you are considering purchasing it, what is the current asking price?
    Has someone told you that it is in mediocre condition?
    Has it been tuned on a regular basis, say at least once or twice a year?
    Are all of the ivories on the keytops intact? And, are all of the black keytops in good shape?
    Can a person play all of the notes?
    Has it been played on a frequent and regular basis recently?
    Does it have the original bench or one that matches the woodwork on the piano and is made of the same kind of wood?
    Has it been painted?
    Has it been stored in a basement or outside?
    Do you know if any parts have been replaced on the inside?