Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lennyd Posts: 26, Reputation: 1

Aug 17, 2007, 11:07 AM
    Will Having a Dismissed Felony Affect My Ability to Teach?
    Just like the title says guys.

My question is that, I am an aspiring teacher, currently in my junior year of college about to start taking all of the field experience (working with children) courses. All of these courses require a clear criminal history in order to participate (for obvious reasons), and of course when I graduate, any school system I apply for will do a thorough background check as well. The deal is, I was arrested about a year ago for shoplifting (long story, was with the wrong person at the wrong time) and because it was over $300 in value (like $310 or something to be exact) it was a felony in the state of Georgia. Now I was given the opportunity to complete a pre-trial diversion program, which I did and the case was thus dismissed. I have all paperwork to prove it was dismissed.

When the college I'm at now, and a future employer (a school system) goes to run a background check on me, will anything show up since it has been dismissed? I'm not sure if you have any experience with teachers, but how do you think that would affect my ability to work as a teacher?

I'm a little clueless as to how a dismissal works and how it will appear on my record to other people... and over all, just extremely nervous about one stupid incident ruining my career goals. Thanks in advance - I appreciate all your help.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Aug 17, 2007, 11:40 AM
    Background checks will only show convictions, not dismissals
    GoldieMae Posts: 263, Reputation: 89

Aug 17, 2007, 11:50 AM