Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jimmygle Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 17, 2007, 12:30 AM
    Independent Contractor
    I did a little searching around and found a few topics that touched on this, but my circumstances are a bit different than the topics I found.

I just was obtained by a small web design company as an independent contractor, I've never done anything like this before, but it seems like a great gig since I'm in college currently, and the hours are what I make of them. I live in Washington state.

The employer gave me a W9 form and a contract outlining my duties, wages, etc. My questions are: 1) What forms do I need to fill out for taxes, when do I need to turn them in, and where do I get these forms. 2) How much money should I put aside for taxes, assuming my income won't be over 25k a year. I read about 33%, is that valid for WA as well? 3) Is there anything else I should be aware of with these taxes? 4) Would it be more cost effective to get a sole proprietorship business license?

I've never filed taxes before, and every other job I've had has always automatically taken taxes out as an employee. Any knowledge/advice would be strongly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time.

Jimmy
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 17, 2007, 05:43 AM
    They will give you a 1099 at the end of the year, many self employed people will file every quarter an estimated tax, ( this way you will not end up with any penalties) You will first of all have to pay 15 percent of what is paid you for social security taxes, then you will have to pay income tax on the net amount. This will be according to your tax status. So yes I would hold at least 33 percent back. And you may not even need a business license, but if you do need one, you get it from the city or county where you live.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Aug 17, 2007, 08:09 AM
    Jimmy:

Fr Chuck's advice is solid.