Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rdfinger0513 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 14, 2007, 08:54 PM
    Being evicted because owners son wants to live here
    Hi, I am new at this but would like some advice. My Family and I have lived in this home for approx. 9 years. We did not sign a lease or contract. It was verbal on a month to month basis. The problem is the original owner (Landlord) died over a year ago. He left this place to one of his kids. They let his common law wife receive the payments until a few months ago. We started paying them and have been behind. We pay them something all throughout the month. Well today we were told that we had until the end of the month (which is 17 days) to get out. The Mom said that she wants her son to live here, and he said that he just don't want to rent it out anymore. Can they do this? Do we have any rights? We have never met faced to face and they chose to evict us over the phone, is this all legal? I need some expert advice... FAST!! Thanks for any and all imput.:confused:
    LisaB4657 Posts: 3,662, Reputation: 534
    Expert

Aug 15, 2007, 05:43 AM
    They do have the right to terminate your tenancy, but they must give you 30 days advance written notice. If you haven't left within that 30 days then they must file a lawsuit for eviction.

I'm sorry but you're going to have to find a new place to live asap.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 15, 2007, 06:06 AM
    If they are evicting you for being behind on your rent, they can do it under 30 days. If they are merely giving you a notice to move out, they have to give you a 30 day notice. But yes they can evict you anytime they want for no reason at all.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Aug 15, 2007, 06:20 AM