Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Hutch67 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 4, 2007, 09:58 PM
    2001 honda civic Hesitation @ 4000 rpm
    I have a 2001 honda civic that recently started hesitating when reaching 4000 rpm. It also has two engine codes. P1298 & P1259. I am a diesel mechanic and could usually troubleshoot and fix problems on my own but, this problem is giving me a bit of a challenge.:confused: Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :) Thanks for your time.
    Hutch.
    CaptainRich Posts: 4,492, Reputation: 537
    Cars & Trucks Expert

Aug 5, 2007, 05:41 AM
    P1298 leads to a problem with the headlights.

However, P1259 deals with the VTEC oil pressure switch (more likely the area your having problems) The diag is quite extensive. Do you have access to anything like a service manual, ie: Clymer's or Mithcell's manuals?
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Aug 5, 2007, 12:06 PM
    If your engine oil is low, some Hondas have a feature to protect the engine from damage around 4,000 rpm.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Aug 5, 2007, 03:49 PM
    https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/cars-t...light=4000+rpm

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

HONDA CIVIC EX 96 fluctuate rpm problem [ 4 Answers ]

Hi , I have a honda civic ex 96 ,when is in idle and I turn on the a/c the rpm fluctuate, its go about 100 rpm up and down not that much, sometime went I accelerated to 2,000 rpm and let it go back to idle it work normal ,but most of the time that I'm driving and it goes to idle start fluctuate...

Honda Civic Si Engine cut (like redline) at 4000 rpm [ 8 Answers ]