Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    scoffey Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 4, 2007, 07:58 PM
    Tape worm medication dosage
    I have two young puppies that have been medicated once by the D-Worm brand tape worm remover. It seems to have taken care of the problem but should I follow up with another dosage later on or is one enough. Thanks.
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Aug 4, 2007, 08:07 PM
    With my dogs I just did the 1 treatment. My neighbor did 2 treatments with her dog. She found them in his stool a month or so later. From what I understand, the tape worm is 1 long worm and the medicine kills it and they digest it and poop it out. Now this is for tape worms only that I speak of, as I have no experience with any other type of worms. Also I am told/read the only way dogs/puppies get tape worms is from eating a flea that is infected. Btw mine are adults not puppies.
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Aug 5, 2007, 05:42 AM
    scoffey, it depends upon which D-Worm product you used for the puppies and how seriously infected they are. You should follow the dosing instruction that came with the product. In case, for whatever reason, you misplaced the instructions, Farnum is the manufacturer of D-Worm. Here is a link to their webpage which lists each product. Click on the link of the product you have used. Directions for use is included:
    Farnam Pet › Products › Search Results

Check your puppies stools regularly. It will take a few days for the dead worms to work their way through completely. Make sure that the worms aren't moving around. Keep checking the stool. If after a few weeks, there doesn't appear to be any worms, the one dosage should have done the trick.