Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    michellet218 Posts: 51, Reputation: 0

Aug 3, 2007, 09:49 AM
    Fashion designer wannabe! Comments needed!
    :confused: Hi!
    My name is Michelle T. and I'm a 22 year old living in Columbia, SC. My dream for the past 12 years was to become a fashion designer. I'm currently attending college so that I can persure my dream one day. I can draw really REALLY well, and my family, friends, and even people I just met always tell me that I draw like a professional fashion designer. I have a portfolio, and many sketch books that I draw my designs in, but the problem is that I am a beginner when it comes to sewing clothes. Lately, I haven't had the money to take up sewing classes, so I just teach myself. I have succeeded in about 3 pieces of clothing that I made, but have also failed more than that. I know sewing takes time to learn, that's why I continue to try and learn from my mistakes. I have found out from other people, television, and common sense in the past years that it's harder to get a job in fashion designing if you can't sew. Mainly people look for people that can draw and sew, but I can only draw. Well, my question is do you know where I can look to find someone that doesn't care if I can't sew? Anybody just looking for a non-sewing fashion designer (ha ha!) or fashion illustrator at the time? I tried looking online, and at google.com, but there's nobody close by. I only found about one place, and that's in Portland, Oregon. That's waaaay to far from Columbia, South Carolina. It's harder for me because South Carolina isn't known for fashion, unlike NY, L.A. FL, etc... I'm thinking about moving to Georgia years from now when I can afford it, but until then, CAN I GET A BREAK FOR NOW?? If you know anything, any piece of information, ANYTHING, please please please let me know. Thanks so much!
    saraispiel19 Posts: 670, Reputation: 115
    -

Aug 3, 2007, 09:53 AM
    Nope sorry hunn