Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    milpol Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 31, 2007, 02:54 PM
    Refused Entry & Now married to a US Citizen
    Hi
    I am hoping someone else has gone through the same experience as me.

A few months ago I was refused entry into the US as they believed I was there under false pretences. I was travelling back to the states with my partner to visit him for a month and then was returning to the Spain where I have been residing for the past five years. Even though we had just got engaged we had no set any dates or the like for a marriage. The immigration department thought otherwise, so I was un-happily parted from my partner and sent back on the first available flight. My partner and I married in spain and I am still not even allowed to visit him. I DO NOT want to become a US Citizen as I am happy to be a British Citizen. All I would like to do is visit him until all the paperwork has gone through. Then stay with him until he has finished his service in the Military where we will be returning to live in Spain.
    The US Government have said they will deny me entry whenever I try to fly over there to see him unless all the relevant paperwork has been completed and accepted.
    Has anyone else experienced this problem and is there any other way that the US Immigration law allows spouses to visit their partners before all paperwork is accepted?
    I am not marrying for a green card and am very much in love with my husband.

Any help would be greatly appreciated?

A very un-happy woman.:(
    pacific nw Posts: 117, Reputation: 11
    -

Jul 31, 2007, 08:54 PM
    Your post is a little confusing. You say you will be getting married in 2 weeks time, yet the heading says "Now Married..."