Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Alwayslost Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Aug 2, 2005, 12:55 PM
    How do I finish my drywall w/ mesh tape?
    I bought a bunch of all-purpose,lightweight joint compound and some fiberglass mesh tape to finish my drywalls. Now, I've only been able to find how to use the regular tape with finishing drywall. How the HECK do I finish the drywall w/ mesh tape?

Yes, I'm a complete newbie
    Appreciate any help, thanks
    Paul
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Aug 3, 2005, 10:59 AM
    Much less to it. That is part of the reason it is popular for DIY. Just stick it on the joints, folding it into the corners. You then push the compound through the mesh to fill the crack behind it. May want to use a little thinner compound, add water, and go over it a couple of times to make sure all the cavities behind it are full. Those skilled in the art can leave a smooth surface on the last pass leaving little or no sanding. A wet sponge may be better than sand paper.
    Alwayslost Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Aug 3, 2005, 12:58 PM
    Thanks a lot! Appreciate the help
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Aug 3, 2005, 08:14 PM
    I've never thought of myself as great at finishing drywall... was OK, but not great.

The last time I did it it worked out perfectly because

1) used thin compound and did thinner layers
    2) used sanding sponge

Didn't wet the sponge, but I thought the finish it left was perfect. Basically don't expect to get it all done in a day necessarily if you're new to it. Thin coats, sanding with sponge in between, over two days gave me the best results.

I'm sure those who know what they're doing can give more tips
    eg007 Posts: 24, Reputation: 1

Aug 25, 2005, 01:05 PM