Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chedmeister Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 29, 2007, 10:12 AM
    The foolproof backup batch file!
    Hi, hope this is the right place to ask about windows XP dos batch files.

I fix home PCs for a living and want to make a foolproof backup procedure that runs overnight. I want the user to plug in a USB drive Thursday eve and take it away on Friday with the backup files on it.

Im using Acronis home for the actual backup and it makes backup files with a .tib format.
    Acronis can be asked to run a batch file after it finishes its backup job.

I want the batch file to:
    Make a new folder with todays date as the title on the USB drive.
    Move the .tib file to the new folder.

The new folder name must be unique as they may have multiple backups on the USB drive.
    The date should be in a DD-MM-YYYY format (may be easier to leave out the separators)

The problem is getting dos to create a folder with today's date as the name. Ive seen a few suggestions on the net from a chap named 'seamonkey' but I'm only so good with dos.

Please help, this will make me look really clever :D and hopefully will be a quick one for a dos wizz.
    benn11 Posts: 1,036, Reputation: 43
    Ultra Member

Jul 30, 2007, 04:21 AM
    What have you come up with so far?

Jul 30, 2007, 10:38 AM
    So far I have this. I don't take credit cos I pinched it from another site:

echo on
    FOR /F "TOKENS=1,2 DELIMS=/ " %%A IN ('DATE/T') DO SET mm=%%B
    FOR /F "TOKENS=2,3 DELIMS=/ " %%A IN ('DATE/T') DO SET dd=%%B
    FOR /F "TOKENS=3,4 DELIMS=/ " %%A IN ('DATE/T') DO SET yy=%%B
    echo mm is: %mm%"dd is:"%dd%yy is %yy%
    set Pdate=%mm%.%dd%.%yy%
    echo %Pdate%

Ren C:\backup\new %Pdate%

This renames the folder with the month and the year but I need the day as well.
    preferably in DD.MM.YYYY format.

I also found this:

echo on
    set Pdate=%date:~3,2%.%date:~0,2%.%date:~-2,2%
    echo %Pdate%

Ren C:\backup\new %Pdate%