Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    adamt Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 23, 2007, 02:16 PM
    Finch death
    I have been keeping finches for about 2 yrs and had a large healthy stock .I bought one from a shop and I lost half my stock in a week,I put it down to the new bird being sick and infecting but it has happened on three more occasions now I have none left . Any ideas?
    mrssittingduck Posts: 151, Reputation: 24

Jul 24, 2007, 02:48 AM
    Did you have any tests done at all?

My first thought initially would be coccidosis or mice,

As the bird that you introduced was from a petshop then it could be a disease which had been brought from their..
    Many birds can live for years without showing symptoms of these diseases and only when they get stressed (like a move does it then become apparent)
    I learnt the hard way about quarentine and birds when I lost over 2000 pounds worth of birds in less than a week..
    Quarentine for a period of 2 weeks should be took out with any new bird purchased..

If your birds were fine and healthy until you introduced the new bird then the chances are it is a disease brought from the shop..

What I do for quarentine is I will take the new bird to a place away from any other birds you have , and disinfect hands every time I go anywhere near the cages... I will then take 1 bird out of my own collection of birds and place it either in a cage next to the new bird or in the same cage as the new bird,

This way if the new bird has any illness that she is living with but can spread about without her showing the symptoms then the new bird will get the disease and get ill within the time frame of the 2 weeks , this way only 1 bird loses its life and the rest are saved,

I would have a word with the petshop see if they have had anything happen or reports (they will prob deny it though) but they don't think about it if they are not told...