Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    crystalbivens Posts: 489, Reputation: 26

Jul 18, 2007, 05:03 PM
    National licensure examination for RN what does this mean
    Hi everyone I need some information if you can help, I have been a student for nursing for the last year and a half I was going to be a LPN but I have decided to go for my RN instead I have signed up to do a bridge program and get my Associate degree with the option to write the national licensure examination to become a registered nurse.
    So my question is after I have completed all my classes and get my Associate degree will I have to take more classes to get my RN, what does it mean to write to the national licensure examination.
    Thanks for your help
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jul 19, 2007, 10:30 PM
    I don't have an answer for you. But, I think that your question is important. So, by my posting a response to it, your question will get placed more towards the top of the list of questions needing to be answered.

There is at least one person on this site who I am sure can provide a good answer for you. And that would be J_9. I hope that she comes along.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Jul 20, 2007, 06:25 AM
    So, let me see if I understand what you are saying. You are going for your Associates as an LPN then a fast track to RN?

I am not sure if the bridge program is the same as what we call "fast track". Where you get your LPN then go for your RN.

If that is the case, then yes you will have to take some courses. You see there are things we RN students learn that are not taught in LPN courses, such as dropping an NG tube, starting IVs and IV therapy, giving narcotics, and quite a few procedures. You will have to learn those procedures prior to becoming an RN.

You will need these to sit for your RN NCLEX. The fast track from LPN to RN takes 18 months at my school.