Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    quietchef Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 16, 2007, 11:14 AM
    Live in NV, work out of state
    I recently moved to Nevada which have no state taxes, however, I am a consultant and work out of state M - Th. How will I be taxed?
    GoldieMae Posts: 263, Reputation: 89

Jul 16, 2007, 11:27 AM
    Depends on the state to which you travel for work. If it is California, it has non-resident income tax laws, which require withholding of California state income taxes from your earnings. You will need to check the California 540NR booklet to see if you will be charged tax in California. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find a good link for you to view. However, if it is California, you have to file tax forms every year if you earn income in that state, regardless of where you actually live.
    GoldieMae Posts: 263, Reputation: 89

Jul 16, 2007, 11:32 AM
    Here is the California franchise tax board url. I know I'm being presumptuous to guess California, but in case I guess correctly, here you go.

2006 Form 540NR Long / Short, Nonresident or Part-year Residents
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jul 17, 2007, 12:40 PM
    It does not matter which state.

Federal tax court rulings have long established that the states have the right to tax income earned within their borders, and each state does so with varying degrees of enthusiasm and effectiveness. Much depends on HOW MUCH you earn while working in the other state.

Unfortunately, California is REAL HIGH on the effectiveness scale, so pay attention to what GoldieMae has provided.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Live in NH, work for MA company, if relocated to work from home, what about taxes? [ 3 Answers ]