Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    amiteman Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jul 15, 2007, 07:22 AM
    Electrical service for 3600 sq. ft. bldg.
    Hi,
    I recently posted a question that probably wasn't specific enough about my situation. Please bear with me as I am a novice.
    I have a 3600 sq. ft. metal building in which I plan to put a 2400 sq. ft. workshop ( general shop for woodworking and metal work) and a 1200 sq. ft. all electric apt.
    The local power co. told me that I couldn't get a 400 amp service without a detailed amp load list for the building. I'm really not sure of the load demand so they gave me this option. I can put in a 320 amp single phase meter pan. (3 phase not available in my area) All copper cable will be used.
    This is my plan. I'm going to run 500MCM from the service head through 3" rigid through the 320 amp meter pan to a 12" X 12" X 48" wiring trough. From out of the trough , through 2" rigid, 3-0 cable to a 200 amp fused disconnect for shop area and a 200 amp disconnect ( fused for 175 amps) for apt. area. The 3-0 cable will continue through to 200 amp shop service panel and 200 amp apt. panel both inside bldg. All of this will be grounded with a 1-0 wire to two 5/8" X 8' ground rods set 8 feet apart. I am unsure about how to run the ground wire.
    Does all this sound practical or is there any overkill on cable sizes. I'd rather be on the safe side of safety and any future upgrades. Thanks Mr. TK Russell for answer to my previous question concerning cable size to 320 amp meter and 200 amp service.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jul 15, 2007, 11:04 AM
    Everything you outlined is exactly correct, and I see you noted this is not a residential service, and your wire sizes are correct.

I have a few questions and comments: