Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lilbdevil2k7 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 10:37 PM
    Shoplifting caught under 50$ in NYC 18 yrs old
    Hello,
    I feel terrible, I've never done anything like this before, I just got greedy and chose not to pay for some items that amounted to 47$ and now I'm banned from the store and I'm getting a summons. I just turned 18 and the person taking care of the incident told me that if I had gone over 50$ I couldve gone to jail. I want to know if it is true that when I pay the summons the crime is cleared and how much the summons is going to be. He said that it would be twice or three times the amount I shoplifted, but I want to know exactly how much that is. I am so scared and I don't know what to do. People are going to think of me as a different person and I am not that type of person, I'm not untrustworthy and I do not have sticky fingers, I was just thinking like a very dumb person at the moment and I got penalized. The first and last time I do this I get caught and I want to know if it will really go into my record and for how long and how much the summons is actually going to be and how long do I have to pay it? And should I tell my mom and/or will she find out on her own if I don't tell her?

Confused young one...
    Please answer back.

I'm in New York city by the way... :confused: :(
    XenoSapien Posts: 627, Reputation: 42

Jul 14, 2007, 05:45 AM
    That sounds logical that you will pay two or three times the amount of the item, but you'll have to find out in court as to the exact amount. You can, although I'm unsure of the process, have your record cleaned.

XenoSapien
    s_cianci Posts: 5,472, Reputation: 760
    Uber Member

Jul 14, 2007, 06:00 AM