Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rebecca24 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 01:34 PM
    Supporting father of baby about to be born
    I am almost nine months pregnant and the father is living with me. I have been supporting him for 7 months because he keeps promising to get some income. He does not seem to be trying very hard. He also is verbally abusive and threatens to leave me and never speak to me again if I don't keep paying his bills- including the child support for his 8 year old. Should I give up on him before he even has a chance to be a father to our son, or should I keep giving him chances to turn his life around?:confused:
    rankrank55 Posts: 1,259, Reputation: 177
    Ultra Member

Jul 10, 2007, 01:47 PM
    Like doctor Phil says, a child would rather come FROM a broken home than be IN a broken home. If I were you, I would make him get out ASAP. There are SO many fish in the sea that can take better care of you and your new baby!
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Jul 10, 2007, 01:52 PM
    Gather up everything that he owns and toss that $hit out the window and his sorry A$$ out the door. Let his next girlfriend pay you child support. What a bum!
    rebecca24 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2007, 05:48 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by rankrank55
    Like doctor Phil says, a child would rather come FROM a broken home than be IN a broken home. If I were you, I would make him get out ASAP. There are SO many fish in the sea that can take better care of you and your new baby!
    Can I legally sue for any of the thousands of dollars I've spent on him over the past 7 months? There is nothing in writing, only emails that acknowledge me paying the bills.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 10, 2007, 06:13 PM
    Sorry, if you were living together and you were "giving" him money to pay his bills, sorry it was a gift or just part of paying joint bills.