Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sweetcheeks_943 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 9, 2007, 03:46 PM
    Vacation Pay
    I am new at this, this is my first time on this site.
    What I am wanting to know is I worked at a job for 13 months, and I was working 50 to 70 hours per week. I had to take 2 weeks off due to hurting my arm and when I returned the owner of the business had taken my management position from me so I gave him a notice and quit.Well I ask for my vacation pay but did not get it and as of today he still has my last check. I have turned my uniform in and when I ask for my check he states call me tomorrow, I will have your check. I live in Tennessee and feel like he has done me wrong. Is it legal for him not to give me my vacation pay or to keep my check? This happened May 14th 2007.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jul 9, 2007, 03:58 PM
    He can't witthold your vacation pay or any cheque. You have to report him to (what it is here in Ontario, the Board of Labour), your equivalent of this.

Jul 9, 2007, 06:10 PM
    Thank you for this answer, but even though I quit am I still entitled to the 40 hour vacation pay that I earned?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jul 10, 2007, 02:52 AM
    Yes, you worked for it, you are entitled to it.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jul 10, 2007, 06:44 AM
    It depends on the company's vacation policy. If you earned it according to their policy, then yes they have to pay it. But without knowing what the policy is, I can't say whether you earned it for sure.

Jul 10, 2007, 01:58 PM