Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jafo's Avatar
    jafo Posts: 1, Reputation: 1
    New Member
     
    #1

    Jan 29, 2004, 07:54 AM
    FTP Commands
    Does anyone know the proper syntax to make an FTP connectiion with the user name and password all in the same ftp command line.

    ftp www.domain.com 'username' 'password'??
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #2

    Feb 29, 2004, 11:10 AM
    FTP Commands
    To put it simply - you can't! The DOS command FTP doesn't accept the username & password as parameters, just the host name. See below for the full syntax.

    Code:
    FTP [-v] [-d] [-i] [-n] [-g] [-s:filename] [-a] [-w:windowsize] [-A] [host]
    
    -v
        Suppresses display of remote server responses.
    -n
        Suppresses auto-login upon initial connection.
    -i
        Turns off interactive prompting during multiple file transfers.
    -d
        Enables debugging.
    -g
        Disables filename globbing (see GLOB command).
    -s:filename
        Specifies a text file containing FTP commands; the commands will automatically run after FTP starts.
    -a
        Use any local interface when binding data connection.
    -A
        login as anonymous.
    -w:buffersize
        Overrides the default transfer buffer size of 4096.
    host
      Specifies the host name or IP address of the remote host to connect to.
    But as you can see - no password/username parameters. I guess there may be other DOS based FTP clients that would let you, but I don't know of any. Try looking on the net.
    psi42's Avatar
    psi42 Posts: 599, Reputation: 13
    Senior Member
     
    #3

    Feb 29, 2004, 06:03 PM
    FTP Commands
    Wget should do it for you. I think there is probably a DOS port somewhere...


    Anyway, this is from the *nix manpage

    Code:
           --http-user=user
           --http-passwd=password
               Specify the username user and password password on an
               HTTP server.  According to the type of the challenge,
               Wget will encode them using either the "basic" (inse-
               cure) or the "digest" authentication scheme.
    
               Another way to specify username and password is in the
               URL itself.  Either method reveals your password to
               anyone who bothers to run "ps".  To prevent the pass-
               words from being seen, store them in .wgetrc or
               .netrc, and make sure to protect those files from
               other users with "chmod".  If the passwords are really
               important, do not leave them lying in those files
               either---edit the files and delete them after Wget has
               started the download.
    ~psi42
    LTheobald's Avatar
    LTheobald Posts: 1,051, Reputation: 127
    Ultra Member
     
    #4

    Mar 1, 2004, 10:49 AM
    FTP Commands
    Silly Lee. Remember not everyone uses Windows *slaps himself on head* :)
    psi42's Avatar
    psi42 Posts: 599, Reputation: 13
    Senior Member
     
    #5

    Mar 1, 2004, 06:42 PM
    Re: FTP Commands
    Silly Lee. Remember not everyone uses Windows *slaps himself on head* :)

    :)

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

 

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.


Check out some similar questions!

Execute DOS Commands Secretely? [ 2 Answers ]

HELLO THERE! (I'm Using Windows-XP SP-2) I Start With Example: -I Have A Calc.exe -I Rename Calc.exe As Clock.txt -(To Hide Its Identity No Body Knows It's an exe) -Now We Have Clock.txt Kept On C:\ -I Want To Run A Sequence Of DOS Commands. They Are:

Commands [ 1 Answers ]

Hi pals I came across some commands like ping,telnet,ftp etc I got 2 know these commands are used to connect the systems remotely but do we have to be online to use these commands or they can be used offline also and can you tell me an example to connect two systems Thankq

Commands in the Startup menu in the MSCONFIG command [ 4 Answers ]

Would anyone please explain to me what these commands do, plus if it's possible, what consequence is going to happen if I cancel anyone of them from the startup menu. By the way, I have a toshiba laptop with XP home edition. Startup Item-------- Command NDSTray ------ ...


View more questions Search