Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    KAJ2007 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2007, 09:03 AM
    Connecting two computers
    Hi I'm new to this "help desk" and this has probably been answered millions of times but can two computers be connected together through the same internet connection? And Also what would I need. The computers are running xp and the is 98 internet connection is wireless broadband. Thank you.
    HVAC888 Posts: 674, Reputation: 75

Jul 5, 2007, 09:15 AM
    Yes its possible. Use a router with a built-in switch. Usually 4 ports. Connect the ethernet port of each PC to the router, and connect the router to your wireless broadband modem.
    KAJ2007 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2007, 09:30 AM
    Thank you for your help but I have another 1 then our phone is also wireless runs through the ethernet anyway aside that one.
    HVAC888 Posts: 674, Reputation: 75

Jul 6, 2007, 09:13 AM
    So you have internet phone service?

Unfortunately, I have no experience with that.

Although it should be able to connect through the router also, assuming that the internet phone is like an "internet appliance" (i.e. your PC).

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Connecting Two Computers via Ethernet [ 1 Answers ]

Hi I am vignesh... I need foolproof method for knowing how to connect two computers in network via ethernet...

Direct connecting two computers [ 2 Answers ]

I want to connect my old computer to my new one so I can transfer files (especially my large e-mail files). My old computer has a modem connection and 2 USB ports. My new computer has a modem port, USB ports and Ethernet port. Is there a way to direct connect the two computers via either the...

Connecting Two Computers [ 2 Answers ]