Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    laurenkm88 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2007, 05:53 AM
    My cat is 7 weeks pregnant
    Hi there,

I am new to this so not really sure if I am posting this in the right category.

My cat molly is 7 weeks pregnant, we can see the kittens kicking all the time and if I put my hand gently on her tummy I can feel them kick!

Should I be keeping her inside from now on?Or when should we start keeping her inside? The vet said I should but she just loves going outside through the day and coming in at night. I would hate for her to go into labour early and have them outside.

Also the cat that we caught her mating with has been hanging around today, is it safe for her and her babies if she goes outside while he is around?

I hope someone can help.

Thanks Lauren
    bushg Posts: 3,433, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Jul 5, 2007, 06:05 AM
    I would listen to the vet . Unneutered males have been known to eat the kittens. I do not know if the momma (if this is her first litter) would know how to protect them. I urge you to have your cat spayed. We have 1000's of unwanted cats/kittens that are killed each each year due to lack of homes. Your cat can have around 3-4 litters of kittens per year, Her kittens can go into heat as early as 6 months and each female kitten can have around 3-4 litters a year and their female kittens and their female kittens. And the problem continues and increases if they are not spayed. If you are straped for cash there are many spay/neuter programs available. Good luck

Jul 5, 2007, 06:13 AM
    She is booked in to be spayed when she has stopped feeding the kittens.

I just feel so cruel keeping her inside when she wants to go outside and play!

The vet said we either keep her in all the time or let her out for small intervals, but I am not sure what to do. But she did say to stop letting her out once she has about 4 days to go.