Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Romeo_Bravo Posts: 31, Reputation: 1

Jul 2, 2007, 03:09 AM
    Looking for a laptop
    I'm a student and I'm looking for a laptop. The problem is that I don't know much about computers.

I will use the laptop for school, so I must be able to run stuff like word and powerpoint on it and be able to save quitte a lot of files.
    I also would like to play games, and I read that laptops aren't really that suitable for games.
    As for my budget, I have none. Although I'am a student, I can pay quitte an amount. If I see something that suits my interests, I will determine whether its worth the price.

Can anyone help me out on the game thing (school tasks won't be a problem, I suppose), or just give me some tings to look out for or tips or something when buying a laptop?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jul 2, 2007, 03:12 AM
    It's all a question of numbers.
    You buy the biggest you can for the budget you have.
    Laptops, like other computers, handle games well.
    You just need to avoid onboard graphics as they are truly terrible.
    Admittedly a full on gaming machine WILL cost serious money.
    benn11 Posts: 1,036, Reputation: 43
    Ultra Member

Jul 2, 2007, 03:14 AM
    When buying a laptop to play games for example Need for speed, then I would recommend 512 graphics card, 2 gig RAM, 3.0 Ghz processor and you can choose the brand ;)
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jul 2, 2007, 03:18 AM
    Interesting specs there ben, but with the newer Core 2 machines it's not a simple case of big Ghz on the CPU.
    My XPS, is "only" a 2 Ghz, but it's Core 2 ;)
    Plays EVERYTHING maxed out at 1920x1200 with NO slow down.

Ok so I also have a 512 Mb Geforce 7950 GTX and 2 Gb RAM to boot.
    USA price about $2,500
    benn11 Posts: 1,036, Reputation: 43
    Ultra Member

Jul 2, 2007, 03:25 AM
    I thought it will be cheaper for the student...

Jul 2, 2007, 06:18 AM