Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dkilgore Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 10, 2007, 11:56 AM
    Refused collection arrangement
    What is the best answer listed below if a collection agency refuses an arrangement... should the client
    (1) not try to pay the account
    (2) ignore contacts from the agency and save until they have the entire amount
    (3)document the offer in writing and send the money each month anyway

This question is from a take-home, open note, "ask anyone" review question from counseling training. My first inclination was #3 but wouldn't that complicate the credit report by updating the "date of last activity."

Thanks for your help. I'm new at this!
    gazelleintense Posts: 175, Reputation: 13

May 12, 2007, 07:46 AM
    If you owe the money why not pay it and get these bozos out of your life? I would not ignore them... once every two weeks you can speak with them, give them an update of your situation... if they get ignorant on the phone, let them hear a dial tone. Do not put up with their verbal abuse on the phone. Any offers must be in writing before you send money. Don't give them access to your accounts ever. Do not send post dated checks.

Im not sure any of those answers are wise.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Creditor refused payment [ 5 Answers ]

I live on the AR/OK state line, and there are what I call loan shark companies in OK. I am TERRIBLE with my money, so I often need help. Here's what happened to me today. The name of this company is world Acceptance in Arkoma, OK. I have been a 'customer' of theirs for MANY years. I'd say at least...

Collection Agency refused my offer! [ 7 Answers ]