Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    erwinvegas Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 26, 2009, 10:30 AM
    Getting a screenplay noticed
    Hey experts I am a beginner with writing screenplays (and using computers... I'm not young, just late to join the rat race), but I have been told I describe good ideas for movies. Who do I ask to know how to shop a screenplay without it getting stolen? Should I be pestering lawyers? I guess the question is... is there another way to advertise my screenplay without the use of agents?
    veewat Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Apr 26, 2009, 10:38 AM

Screenplays are vulnerable to idea theft so you must register them first with the Writers Guild. Reputable agents won't read unsolicited manuscripts (for fear of the above accusation) so you need to find a lawyer who has a connection to an agent and submit this way.

Hollywood operates on the basis that 'just anybody' can't simply walk in and have their ideas listened to. It takes a great deal of preparation and legwork to go the traditional route. You could make a mini-movie of your screenplay and shoot a homemade version on YouTube. If it's provocative or interesting enough you might get noticed. But it's tough.

Final recommendation: Canvas your friends, relatives, friends of friends of etc. to see if you can sniff out any connection to someone in Hollywood and then go after that connection.

Connections are what it is all about and it can take years to build them. There is no overnight solution. Good luck!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Get noticed [ 2 Answers ]

How do I get this guy to nitice me ?

Have you noticed? [ 94 Answers ]