Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    uk100 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2009, 09:14 PM
    Requesting a 1099 for LLC with a W-9
    I am an independent contractor, operating as an LLC (disregarded entity), and have requested a client to provide me with a 1099-Misc. they replied that Corporations do not get a 1099. I've explained that as an LLC, I've received nonemployee remuneration in the form of fees, and I am liable for SE tax, but they do not seem to understand.

Where can I copy a passgae to quote them, which states that LLC's can receive a 1099 for professional services rendered as an individual trading under the business LLC name.

Thanks.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Feb 4, 2009, 01:57 AM

Hi, uk100!

Since your question really has more to do with taxes than small business, I've moved it over to this forum topic area so that it will be more likely to be noticed and addressed by those who are best able to do that to your satisfaction.

Thanks!
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 9, 2009, 02:50 PM
    If you know what you got paid by this client (and if you do NOT know, shame on YOU for keeping shoddy records), you can report that income on your Schedule C without benefit of the Form 1099.

BOTTOM LINE: You do not NEED the Form 1099 to report your income. Just report it.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Requesting a new judge [ 12 Answers ]

How can a plaintiff request a new judge when she feels as though the judge is repeatedly swaying the other way. She is a single mother, has two jobs, and is in college. She came to me for advice. Tuesday was her court day. The father failed FOUR drug analysis tests and had owed her over $2500...

How to requesting experience letter [ 1 Answers ]