Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Ron597 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 29, 2009, 06:58 PM
    Hippa Violation and American Disabilities Act ?
    I recently had a heart attack. I was on medical leave for two months. I had to wear the Life Vest portable defiliator . I was cleared by two doctors to return to work on April 3rd. My supervisor held up my return arguing I was an at will employee. I appealed to the agency who sided with me. I was allowed to return to work wearing the LifeVest. I was allowed to continue my cardiac rehabilitation during lunch. My supervisor has been hostile since my return. She refers to me as another burden she has. I am a case manager for a mental health recovery center. She informed the staff and patients of my medical condition and my presumed termination. On my first day back she said pressure would be on me and my health would be no excuse for performance. I have an order light duty. However I have been reassigned to washing vans ,groundskeeping and unloading delivery trucks. She has stated she will make it so unbearable I will quit since I cannot be fired. Although I have permission to go to rehab she has been highly critical of my departures. She makes me feel guilty for leaving.
    Is the agency liable for her transactions ? My supervisor costed me lost wages since my leave time had expired. She did get them to take my service time. I came back under probation even though I was two weeks away from being fulltime before the heart attack. Is the agency responsible for the Hippa, ADA and Rehabilitation Act violations of a supervisor ?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Apr 30, 2009, 07:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron597 View Post
    Is the agency responsible for the Hippa, ADA and Rehabilitation Act violations of a supervisor ?
    Hello Ron:

Maybe. I'd show THIS post to her supervisor. If you get NOTHING, then take it to an attorney.

excon