Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    philly24 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 17, 2012, 08:29 PM
    Break-Up... GF needs time to be alone
    I was with my girlfriend for three years. We have had our ups and downs but it was mostly good times. We met during an AmeriCorps program and lived together for 6 months when we first started dating. After that time we both went back to school (me in the Midwest and her in California). After one year of a long distance relationship she moved in with me in while I worked on finishing school.

Things were good but I could tell that she was lonely (i.e. Didn't really have any friends there to hang out with), so I suggested that she move back out West while I finished my last semester.

We talked a everyday during the Fall and I planned on joining her out West once I graduated in December. At one point in the semester her Aunt passed and way and she told me she needed a break. I gave her the space she needed and within a week we were talking again.

However, about a week before I was to move out West shed called me in tears and told me she had to break up with me because she wanted to be more independent (primarily financially). I was distraught and talked with her a lot the next couple of day. Eventually she told me that she still wanted to be with me and that she still wanted me to move in with her. So I did.

Less than a week after I move out West she broke up with me and said she just needs some time to be by herself. She said she needed to work on herself and feel like she didn't have to depend on anyone. I should note that we were living with her parents at the time. She said that she still loves me and that maybe one day we can be together again but she can't say for sure. She said that she doesn't know how much time she needs for herself so she had to break up with me.

She had also had a big fight with her parents and moved out (at least for a couple of days) of their house.