Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    skydive4life Posts: 84, Reputation: 6

Dec 7, 2008, 08:59 AM
    Smoking cigs
    I've been smoking for about 3 years now I'm at about a pack a day give or take depending on what I'm doing and how I'm feeling. I would love to stop just because its such a bad habbit but its not as easy as you'd think haha. I tried the patches and gum and those things are horrible does anyone have any suggestions?
    KBC Posts: 2,550, Reputation: 487
    Ultra Member

Dec 7, 2008, 10:00 AM

While attending a 12 step meeting one participant stated he quit by using the steps to quit,so far he has been smoke free for the past 7 years.I guess if he can quit drinking AND smoking at the same time,it would seem possible.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Dec 7, 2008, 10:13 AM
    Hello sky:

Having been a user of substances my entire life, I found cigarettes to be the absolute hardest addiction to break.

But, I did it. I used a program that isn't offered anymore by Shick Shadel Hospitals. Some people get hypnotized. Some use accupuncture. Some pray. My ex wife just quit (and that really pissed me off), cause at the time, I couldn't just quit. I HAD to participate in a program...

But, all the programs work for some. And, none of them work for everybody. Because, in the final analysis, it's not YOU and the PROGRAM. It's YOU and the DRUG. THAT relationship needs to be broken, and it's up to YOU to break it. These programs offer support, but the actor in the equation is YOU.

So, find a program, or not. Or just stop. I don't know what's going to work for you. I hope you DO stop, because it WILL kill you, of course. Virtually everybody who smokes will die of smoking related disease.

excon

Dec 7, 2008, 10:17 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by excon View Post
    Hello sky:

Having been a user of substances my entire life, I found cigarettes to be the absolute hardest addiction to break.