Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    peppermint Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 9, 2007, 07:19 AM
    Delayed period
    Hi, I'm 21 y/o and I haven't got my period since January this year, I had felt some PMS symptoms during that month but I was disappointed. For the past months I was stressed because of school works. I tried to wait until now but still, there were no signs. I expereinced a low blood pressure a couple of months ago and taken some medications, the result, I gain weight. :(

I haven't tried to seek a HPT because I'm afraid, what if, it is positive.. :confused: I don't want to have a baby as soon as now because I'm still studying. I'm not taking any pills and practicing withrawal method.

Is it just a secondary amenorrhea or something that I don't want to happen?

Please help me cope with this.. :o

Thanks a lot..
    alkalineangel Posts: 2,391, Reputation: 323
    Ultra Member

Apr 9, 2007, 08:28 AM
    As scary as it sounds, you need to just make an appointment with your doctor. They can give you a pregnancy test, and also look for other reasons behind it if it is negative. Waiting is not going to do anything except possibly harm your baby if you are pregnant and possibly you as well. There are many health risks that can be involved in pregnancy, (not to scare you, just so you know.) Also if it is another issue, you don't want to put your health at risk by waiting. It is possible if you are stressed like you say, that the stress has caused the delay, but It is April now, and if you still have not had a period, you need to see the dr. immediately.

I know a baby is a big responsibility, and it is frightening when you are young and still in school, but you are old enough that you could handel a child if needed. The one thing I ask is that you consider other options than abortion if you decide to not keep the baby. There are many people out there who are longing to have a child. Your doctor can suggest options with you.