Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tcoope Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 9, 2007, 01:37 PM
    Sick pup
    I adopted a puppy from the shelter Monday, her first vet visit was that same day. He said she had Coccidia and possibly worms and gave meds. She started having diarreah vomiting fever and listlessness the next day. We rushed her back and they said possibly Parvo. Hey kept her in hosp. over night on IV, the next day, after having put out close to 700.00 they said I should take her home if I couldn't pay more(which I can't) her insurance won't kick in for 14 days I'm not even sure it is Parvo, but she is deteriorating with blood in stools now, advice?
    Shine Posts: 27, Reputation: 2

Mar 9, 2007, 01:47 PM
    I used to work as a vet assistant and I hate to be a downer but... parvo is a serious illness. It is virus that runs quickly through litters and is very deadly. I have only seen one puppy make it through, but I always have hope. Parvo is sort of a stomach virus and has a very distinctive smell. Bascially the dogs die from dehydration because of the vomiting and diareha. The pup needs medical attention! And the shelter you got him from should be told, so they can properly disinfect the kennel and check to see if it has spread to other pups.

I hope your puppy makes it through!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Mar 9, 2007, 01:53 PM
    How terrible. If it is the parvo it sounds like, I am afraid her only chance is to stay at the vet's. You could take her home and try to pour Pedilyte or Gator Aid into her, but I doubt it will help. For reliable information on parvo, see Canine Parvovirus, What you should know about There is no cure for parvo. You can only try to keep the puppy from dehydrating while its body overcomes it. It is a horrible, awful disease killing many puppies just after they won somebody's heart. I hate it.