Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JBonline2u Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 17, 2008, 05:13 PM
    How Do I dispute what I believe to be an incorrect doctors bill
    I've been receiving allergy drops from an ENT Doctor for several years. Early this year (Jan or Feb) I went in to pick up my next installment of drops when the allergy nurse informed me that my insurance company had recently decided that they were no longer going to cover the allergy drops. We discussed what my options were and I decided to discontinue the treatment. She said that was fine and I left and she kept the drops. A couple of months later I received a bill for $263 for the drops that I didn't receive. I called the allergy nurse and told her that I had received the bill and she said that it was a mistake and she would take care of it. In June I received another bill but was getting ready to go on vacation so I didn't call right away. When I returned from vacation in July the Dr office had called about the bill. I called them back and explained what happened. The office manager tried to tell me that the allergy nurse probably meant that I should just use that batch of drops and discontinue the treatment when they were gone - Which really doesn't make sense since if she had intended for me to take those drops she would have given them to me when we discussed the situation in her office. When I told her about my phone call to the allergy nurse after I received the bill (whch the nurse has now forgotten) she said that the nurse shouldn't be handling billing issues. The way we left it she was going to talk to the Dr and get back to me. I haven't heard back from them but have still gotten bills. The drops in question work cumulativly so just getting the drops now (after not taking them for about 6 months would do me no good. It appears that there were mistakes made by the Dr staff in this situation but I feel like I'm being railroaded into paying the bill which nis the result of other peop