Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    handymanJ Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Mar 25, 2007, 07:39 AM
    Lamp, trips, circuit breaker
    My dog knocked over my lamp and tripped the circuit breaker, when I reset the circuit breaker it trips again. What could be the problem?
    TheSavage Posts: 564, Reputation: 96

Mar 25, 2007, 07:44 AM
    Unplug the lamp and try the breaker again. If still trips you might have a bad breaker. -- note I am just a farm boy -- not a electrician.-- Savage
    nmwirez Posts: 453, Reputation: 20

Mar 26, 2007, 05:03 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSavage
    Unplug the lamp and try the breaker again. If still trips you might have a bad breaker. -- note I am just a farm boy -- not a electrician.-- Savage
    Hey Savage, You and I are in the same club. I am a farmboy and an electrician. I would have used my barnyard logic and answered that the dog was the problem. :D nm
    nmwirez Posts: 453, Reputation: 20

Mar 26, 2007, 05:11 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by handymanJ
    my dog knocked over my lamp and tripped the circuit breaker, when I reset the circuit breaker it trips again. What could be the problem?
    Handymanj, If the breaker does not trip when the lamp is disconnected then the lamp may have shorted in the cord. If the you can reset the breaker without it tripping, plug something else into that receptacle outlet. If the breaker trips now, then internal damage might be in the wall receptacle. If not, then the lamp needs repair.

Is the dog allowed to run in the house? Ask Labman about obedience school.. . :)nm

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

New 15A breaker trips main 100A breaker [ 6 Answers ]