Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mogrann Posts: 860, Reputation: 193
    Dogs Expert

Feb 18, 2011, 07:11 PM
    Boredom and Owen
    As most of you know Owen has elbow Dysplasia which limits his exercise. He can on average walk for about 20 min before limping. If he does too much one day it can carry over to the next day. For example when his friend Charlie comes over to play, you don't see the limp until AFTER the play date is over. I am constantly watching for the limp as I don't want him to be in pain.

This is what I am thinking. It is only an assumption, as I have said before I am no dog expert.

This is causing issues for him in that he has too much built up energy. Due to this he is chewing clothes, paper, toilet paper, books etc. Nothing is safe from him. He will go in the bathroom garbage and strew it over the bathroom. We put him in a kennel if we go out for this reason. He acts like he knows he did wrong when caught as he will appear to be sorry with the lowered head and puppy dog eyes. I do show him the item and say "Leave it". He learned that command in obedience class.

I have talked to Binx and she wondered if it was psychological. That worries me as then it means I did something to cause this.

Please give it to me straight as I want my boy to be happy and well adjusted.

Our way of exercising is when he starts to limp and lower his head to walk we go home with him. When he is limping I let him set the walking pace due to the fact sometimes he will walk slower. If he gets to an off leash park it is harder to notice the limp as he will hide it(that is what I think). If we call him over to us and stop play time he may or may not limp and that is when we notice it.

Susan and Owen.
    Lucky098 Posts: 2,594, Reputation: 543
    Ultra Member

Feb 20, 2011, 12:01 AM

Find an indoor pool for dogs. Swimming takes a lot of pressure off joints.