Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sc00byd00byd00 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 1, 2007, 11:44 AM
    Keyboard typing wrong characters
    Hiya all,

I'm an IT professional and embarrassed to say that I don't know the answer to this question.

I have a IBM Thinkpad T42 and although the regional settings and input locale are set to English (UK), the keybord seems to by typing everything in English (US)

I've tried everything I can think of short or re-installing XP again, PLEASE, can somebody tell me a fix for this ?

Cheers,

Scott
    Adamski Posts: 6, Reputation: 2

Feb 5, 2007, 08:00 PM
    Hi.
    Go to control panel>regional and languages>select the language tab then press the details button.Select engilish uk in the dropdown tab then apply.

Regards Adamski.
    damsella Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 25, 2009, 02:22 PM
    Thank you Adamski - I had got any odd sequence for any odd key and followed your advice a step further to change key sequence - sanity restored!

Thanks
    Paulwestbrook Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 25, 2011, 05:29 AM
    TRy Alt-Shift. This will toggle the keyboard to the language you need.
    Paul
    gouldian Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 27, 2011, 06:40 PM
    When I tap the e key I get... qe

When I tap the c key I get... zc

When I tap the a key I get... ad

Please could you help me... yes I had to cut and past the right letters to type this
    Chiaraiusso Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 4, 2013, 11:31 AM
    Confused and frustrated.. Am in Canada and have configured my laptop for Canada, however my wireless keyboard seems to be off kilter.. can no loner use the alt key to access symbols.. help!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

How do I unlock my laptop keyboard - it types the wrong thing! [ 8 Answers ]