Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Quigley Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 19, 2007, 08:37 PM
    Ontario / Seven years done... now seven more years?
    I live in Ontario Canada and have waited seven years for a TD Bank entry to come off the "Credit Information" section on my Equifax report, It's come off but now there's a completely new entry in the "Collection Accounts" section for the same arrears handed over to a collection agency.
    I thought the max was seven years on your report but am now looking at 14 years for this to disappear?

May 22, 2007, 05:27 PM
    Well since no one's answering, I'm going to try to keep a record here, I'm new at this & don't know if I can win this.. but I'm going to try my hardest.
    I called an Equifax rep today name Chris who was short on info & long on attitude, as soon as I called she tried to get information to update the file but I gave her nothing more than what was already on my file, very persistent woman asking for my workplace & trying to tell me that I no longer live at my current address & that I must have a new address etc etc.
    I asked her if it was legal to remove an entry with the original creditor (TD Bank) after 6 years only to have it put back under "Collection Accounts" for 6 more years by a collection agency, she told me "companies can do whatever they want" and went as far as to try to dig up the number for the collection agency so that I could settle the bill, I told her I refuse and this angered her.
    I explained that If I call them the date of last activity would be reset and asked her to explain why the Collection Accounts section does not have a date of last activity field, but has the following explanation in the header:
    A collection account under public records will automatically purge from the system six (6) years from the date of last activity.
    She explained that the "Date of last payment" was the same thing.